• IELTS stands for 'International English Language Testing System'. It is a test of English language proficiency. It is jointly managed by University of Cambridge ESOL Examinations, the British Council and IDP Education Australia.
  • There are two versions of the IELTS: The Academic Version and the General Training Version
  • The Academic Version is intended for those who want to enroll in universities and other institutions of higher education and for professionals such as medical doctors and nurses who want to study or practise in an English-speaking country.
  • The General Training Version is intended for those planning to undertake non-academic training or to gain work experience, or for immigration purposes.
  • IELTS is accepted by almost all Australian, British, Canadian, Irish, New Zealand and more than 1800 US academic institutions. It is also a requirement for immigration to Australia and Canada.
    An IELTS result or Test Report Form (TRF) is valid for two years.

IELTS Test Structure:

  • All candidates must complete four Modules - Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking - to obtain a Band. All candidates take the same Listening and Speaking Modules, while the Reading and Writing Modules differ depending on whether the candidate is taking the Academic or General Training Versions of the Test.

  • Total Test Duration 2 hours 45 minutes.

  • The first three modules - Listening, Reading and Writing (always in that order) - are completed in one day, and in fact are taken with no break in between. The Speaking Module may be taken, at the discretion of the test centre, generally it is later on the test day or day after the test.


  • IELTS is scored on a nine band scale, with each band corresponding to a specified competence in English. The Band Scores are in either whole or half Bands. The nine bands are described as follows:

9 Expert User:

  • Has fully operational command of the language: appropriate, accurate and fluent with complete understanding. It would be very hard to attain this score.

8 Very Good User :

  • Has fully operational command of the language with only occasional unsystematic inaccuracies and inappropriacies. Handles complex detailed argumentation well.

7 Good User:

  • Has operational command of the language, though with occasional inaccuracies, inappropriateness and misunderstandings in some situations. Generally handles complex language well and understands detailed reasoning.

6 Competent User:

  • Has generally effective command of the language despite some inaccuracies, inappropriacies and misunderstandings. Can use and understand fairly complex language, particularly in familiar situations.

5 Modest User:

  • Has a partial command of the language, coping with overall meaning in most situations, though is likely to make many mistakes. The candidate should be able to handle communication in his or her own field.

4 Limited User :

  • Basic competence is limited to familiar situations. Has frequent problems in using complex language.

3 Extremely Limited User:

  • Conveys and understands only general meaning in very familiar situations. Frequent breakdowns in communication occur.

2 Intermittent User:

  • No real communication is possible except for the most basic information using isolated words or short formulae in familiar situations and to meet immediate needs. Has great difficulty understanding spoken and written English.

1 Non User:

  • Essentially has no ability to use the language beyond possibly a few isolated words.

0 No Original English Used:

Test Fee

  • The current IELTS test fee is INR 7300/- Students can register for the test right in our office





Powered By APYELLOW PAGES                  Designed ByCreators Touch